Subscribe Now:

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Intermediate Courses and Bloom's Taxonomy

ITIL Lifecycle and Capability courses and exams are built based on Bloom levels 3 and 4
  • Bloom 3 – application – measures ability to use information in new ways to solve problems, predict results, tell how, when, where and why 
  • Bloom 4 – analysis – measures ability to distinguish between different parts, understand how parts fit together, identify causes, recognize hidden meanings, draw conclusions
These courses are intended to provide “how to” knowledge as opposed to ITIL Foundation’s “what about” knowledge.
Effective learning and study techniques for learners taking Bloom levels 3 and 4 exams include:
  • Do your pre-class reading and in-class homework assignments
  • Actively participate in class discussions, debates and assignments
  • Use the SQ3R (Survey, Question, Read, Recite, Review) reading and study technique 
  • Create complex mind maps to tie terms, concepts, and activities to key topics (Visual/Kinesthetic) 
  • Practice mapping ITIL concepts to real world situations/problems 
  • Create inductive diagrams - diagrams that illustrate inductive reasoning which involves moving from observations to a theory 
  • Create deductive diagrams - diagrams that illustrate deductive reasoning which involves starting with a theory and confirming (or not) that theory
Want to become an ITIL Expert?  In May, 2012, the new Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) syllabus and exam will be introduced based on Bloom level 5.  Stay tuned to my next blog for more information on Bloom Level 5 and MALC.

No comments:

Post a Comment